Complimentary Colors

2 Apr

The one thing I always notice about any room is whether the colors used are complimenting each other.  I went to school to study art so I can be really annoying about it.  I promise I wasn’t one of those emo I only wear black I’m such a cool hipster kind of art student.  My bestie and I instantly bonded because we didn’t take anything seriously.  Shout out Michelle!

Art Professor: So what exactly were you feeling when you were painting? 

Typical Art student: I was feeling the weight of the world crushing down on a woman’s spirit and dreams on her path to find freedom.  That is why I painted the rhino with fire coming out of his eyes eating a bleeding heart.

Me: Ummm………I painted the flowers because………..I like flowers.

Ok, back to what I was saying.  I think the best way to start decorating a room is picking the one color you can see yourself living around.  Then, pick a color on the opposite side of the color wheel to compliment it.

Here’s a  color wheel to show you what I’m talking about.

Image Detail

Here’s a really great room that uses complimentary colors.  The orange compliments the blue because they are opposites on the color wheel.  Get it?  Easy, huh?

Image Detail

Here’s another room that uses the same color scheme.  Subtle use of orange accents.

Image Detail

Yellow is close to orange on the color wheel so this room still works.  Think warm vs. cool colors.  They always look great together.

Image Detail

Let’s look at another pair of compliments: yellow and violet.

Here’s a room with killer violet couches and yellow accents.  Gorgeous.

Image Detail

I’m dying of joy just looking at this room.  Beautiful art and a beautiful sofa too!  How dare you not be mine!

Image Detail

Green and Red are not my favorite color combinations because it reminds me of a Christmas explosion.  That is my opinion.  Here’s a room that seems to have pulled this combo off though.  Not exactly my style, but still cute.

Image Detail

This room does this color combo justice too.  Very classy and nice.

Image Detail

I hope my advice helps you out the next time you want to change up your home decor.  Now I kind of feel like painting a room turquoise and throwing random orange things in it.  Hmmmm……..

3 Responses to “Complimentary Colors”

  1. Leyla April 3, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    Wow I’ve learned something!

  2. pinkandplum April 24, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    This makes me want to paint my apartment! I can’t wait until I have a house to paint. Great post!

Leave a Reply

