Built In Ideas

21 Feb

I still cannot say how much I love our new built-in.  I need to thank Baggins and Papa Solano one more time for making it happen.  I would have absolutely no idea on how to build something like that so I am beyond impressed.  Now that it’s pretty much done, I now how the awesome task of decorating it.

I have a few ideas on what I could do with some of the cubbies.  Shout out elementary school!  Remember when we had cubbies?

This is completely off the subject, but it brings up a memory I have from 3rd grade.  I left a school lunch in my cubby for over a month and fruit flies infested our room and no one could figure out where they were coming from.  I had to sneak in the room after school and get rid of the evidence before anyone figured it out.

Ok, back to what I was saying.  I want to use all kinds of mirrors and over lap them somewhere.

Like how the mirror reflects the part we forgot to paint? Hehe.  By “we” I really mean just Baggins because I was on my “monthly” and had to lounge on the couch with my hot pad to sooth the cramps.  Was that too much info?  Sorry.  Moving on.

I am still on the look out for more mirrors.  If you have any a poor little blogger could use please send them my way.  I haven’t been very successful at the thrift stores lately.

I also want to use some of the frames that have been hiding in the closet for the past couple of months.

Look at the amazing mini watercolor painting my mom found at Goodwill?  I just switched out the frame with one I have had for a while. So pretty.  This needs to be displayed in one of the cubbies for sure.

I don’t know if I have ever showed this, but look at this amazing framed print of Frida Kahlo my mom also scored at Goodwill!  I love this so much!  It’s been hiding in the kitchen, but I want to use it somewhere in the built-in.

My sister bought me that cute little dish leaning up against the books for Christmas.  I definitely want to display this too.  It matches the color scheme in the living room so it’s perfect.

While I think about what the heck I’m going to do with this built-in I think it’s time to drink wine and cook up some kale.

Yummers!

And yes, I am drinking from a regular glass.  Don’t judge me.

6 Responses to “Built In Ideas”

  1. Mama Solano February 21, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    The final product looks fab but you forgot to mention sister Alyssa for helping with the built in…I love that the house was literally remodeled from the ground up with the love and support from family and friends….That’s amazing! Salut’e…

    Mama Solano

    • forevervintageblog February 23, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      You’re right! Thank you sister Alyssa for helping out so much at the casa. I can’t believe I forgot to give a shout out. All you guys are pretty awesome if you ask me. I love you guys so much 🙂

  2. Leyla February 22, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    I can’t wait to see!

  3. Patricia Fogt February 22, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    You never cease to amaze me Mariam!!! You are sooooooooooo funny and soooooooooooooooo talented!! See you Saturday 🙂

    • forevervintageblog February 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      Thanks Aunt Patty! I can’t wait to see everyone on Saturday. I am going to make margaritas, woohoo!!!

  4. pinkandplum February 23, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh I loooove the built-ins! So beautiful!! I hope to have built-in’s if I ever have a house.

Leave a Reply

