Yummers

19 Feb

That is the only word I can think of to describe the yumminess of a recipe I tried out the other night.  Feta cheese stuffed dates wrapped in bacon.  Hells yeah people!  BACON!!!!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

First, I had to pit the dates.  Just get a knife and cut them in half and the little seed comes right out.  For this recipe, you only use half a date at a time.  The whole date is way too big.

Try to ignore the fact that they kinda resemble little roaches.  Gross!!  Just typing that word makes me want to gag.  I promise you that dates are delicious.

Once the dates were pitted, I put a few pieces of bacon on a plate lined with paper towels.  I put them in the microwave for a minute and a half until they were a little cooked but not crispy.  I then cut them in half.  One piece of bacon is enough to wrap two dates.

Sorry for the fact that I have no pictures of the wrapping process.  My hands were kinda messy.

So, the last step is to just put a little bit of feta in each date, wrap it with the bacon and stick a toothpick in it to hold it all together.  Stick them in a 400*F oven, cheese side up, until crispy.  About 20-30mins.  Just keep checking.

The actual finished product is not here because we ate them so fast I forgot to take a picture.  Trust me.  They are super yummers!

Here’s baggins holding a pan of buffalo chicken egg rolls I also made the same night.  He wanted to warm them up and didn’t realize that I had the broiler on.  A burned disaster soon happened.  Booooo!

 Now, go to the store and get the ingredients for the date recipe and let me know how you like them.  They are beyond easy to make and oh so yummy.  Goodnight bloggies 🙂

5 Responses to “Yummers”

  1. Leyla February 20, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Those dates look amazing! Yummy

    • forevervintageblog February 21, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

      I’ll make them for you when we come see you in Chicago. Just get the ingredients ready for me 🙂

  2. Patricia Fogt February 20, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    I really like dates! I’m going to have to try the recipe 🙂 Thanks 🙂

  3. Michelle February 26, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Are those dates like the ones from our little date night at the bubble room??? man those things were crazy good!!

Leave a Reply

