Living On The Thrift

22 Jan

That’s been my motto for the past couple of weeks.  The cheap monster has officially attacked me and I officially hate to spend any money what so ever.  I’m talking about “Oh snap, what do I do once I run out of toilet paper?” cheap.  Fortunately that has yet to happen so I need not to worry for a while.

One thing I realized was that I was spending way too much money on laundry detergent.  I always cringe everytime I have to buy a new bottle.  Why the heck is that stuff so expensive?  It’s just soap, right?  What the hell!

Image Detail

So, I decided that I was going to start my thrifty lifestyle by making my own laundry detergent.  There’s actually a lot of crazy people like me out there doing this.  Who what have thunk it?  I researched different recipes for detergent and came up with the one I wanted to try out.

DIY Laundry Detergent

1 Quart water (boiling)

2 Cups Ivory Soap (grated)

2 Cups Borax (laundry section in super market)

2 Cups Washing Soda (laundry section in super market)

The first thing I did was bring a quart of water to a boil on the stove.  Make sure you use a pretty large pot.  Once it starts to boil you need to add 2 cups of grated ivory soap (4 bars).  I was short one ivory bar so I just used one Dial bar I had lying around.

I didn’t feel like grating anything because I like my knuckles and found a way more fun alternative.  Microwave those suckers!

I put one bar at a time in the microwave for about a minute.  Did you know that this happens to soap bars when you put them in the microwave?  Awesomeness! Soap clouds.

The whole point of doing this is is that air gets in the soap so it’s able to melt in the boiling water.  I put the soap clouds in the boiling water one at a time and started stirring……………….and stirring………………….and stirring………………

………….and stirring some more.  Lord, was there a lot of stirring.

Once most of the soap was liquified in the water I decided to break out a secret weapon.  The emulsifier!  This bad boy worked magic and saved this impatient girl’s sanity.  It basically helped break up all the soap pieces that were being stubborn and not wanting to melt.

Once everything is melted and ready to go, just pour the liquid carefully in a large bucket.  Mama Khosh gracefully donated this bucket to her cheap daughter.  You need a bucket that can hold at least 3 gallons of liquid.

 The next step is to add your 2 cups of Borax and 2 cups of Washing Soda.  Make sure to stir after every scoop.

Also, make sure to make a complete mess of your sweater and cabinets in the process.

When all the ingredients are fully mixed, add 2 gallons of water.  There’s no need to heat it.  Just straight from the sink to the bucket it goes.  Mix, mix, mix.

And that’s it bloggies!  DIY laundry detergent ready to go.

Luckily, I had some dirty towels to test out my creation on.  I just used the cup that comes with the store bought soap to measure out enough detergent.  Just pour it in and let the machine do the rest.  The towels came out fresh and clean.

If you’re using your soap the next day you’ll notice a gel film that magically appeared at the top.  Just give it a mix and it’s ready to go.  I used my emulsifier again and it made it extra smooth.

I have not done the math on how much I saved on this project, but I will let you know once I do the math just how much mullah I am saving.  It has to be a lot because all the ingredients were super cheap.

Check back soon for some more money-saving ideas you can start doing.  Yay for being thrifty!

6 Responses to “Living On The Thrift”

  1. Leyla January 22, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Wow that’s cool! I’m just too lazy to try it. 🙂

    • forevervintageblog January 22, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      haha. Thanks for always being the first to comment sister. Love you.

      • Patricia Fogt January 23, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

        You have the sweetest sister ever!!

      • forevervintageblog January 23, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

        agreed

  2. Patricia Fogt January 23, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    You absolutely crack me up Mariam!!! If it’s worth all that work for the little money you’re saving, well, more power to you 🙂 It certainly is creative, like everything you do 🙂 YOU GO GIRL!!

Leave a Reply

