Squeaky Clean

17 Jan

Does this sound familiar to you?

You get in the shower doing your “get clean” thang minding your own business and then you happen to notice a strange beast from the side of your eye.  The shower scum beast that is.  It’s that nasty plaque that attaches itself to your glass doors without your permission marking it’s territory.

Not cool shower scum!

Remember when I thought I made an amazing discovery on how to kill the shower beast?  The dryer sheet trick?  Outcome=stupid and a waste of a dryer sheet.  The scum was mocking me the whole time.

Image Detail

I did find one great remedy on Pinterest that actually works better than any name brand cleaner on the block.

So here is how you can stop the scum beast once and for all.

My shower slowly losing the scum battle:

Ewwww………gross.

Ignore the mess in the background.  My imaginary maid quit the other day.

I have officially named my cleaning product: Super Scum Destroyer.

Here’s how it’s made.  Pay close attention because it is really complicated.

Mix equal parts vinegar and dish soap.  Done.

Yup, that’s about it.  I actually took a glass full of vinegar and warmed it up in the microwave for about a minute first.  I think warm vinegar breaks down scum faster.  That may be all in my head, but it works for me.  You can just use room temp vinegar which I’m sure works just as well.

Try your best to pour the vinegar in an empty spray bottle without completely spilling it everywhere in the process.

Then, squeeze an equal amount of dish soap in the bottle.  I used this one.  Inexpensive, but just as good as the name brand one.  Shout out Hill Country Fare!

Gently shake the two complicated ingredients together.  Don’t go crazy with it.

Next, take your Super Scum Destroyer and head over to the shower that is being attacked.

Spray everything with the mixture and let it sit for about an hour or so.  I hate waiting too, believe me.  Just go get a snack or something and check Pinterest for a while.  The time will fly by.

Once you learned how to make these little cupcakes for your next get together, then it’s time to get off Pinterest and head back to the shower

Pinned Image

Get a wet cloth and wipe down everything that you just sprayed.  Once, everything gets a nice little scrub action then get some clean water and wash it all away.

Look who got all squeaky clean.

I actually took the war against shower scum a step further.  Introducing the amazing Rain-X.

This is usually used on car windshields, but I decided to be unruly and use it on the shower glass for extra scum repellent.

All I did was take a dry cloth and spray some Rain-X on it.  Then, I just wiped all the glass with the clear wax.

The wax leaves a hazy residue once it’s dry.  Just get another clean cloth and wipe it off until the glass shines.

Viola!

I hope this post was useful to all of the ones that were sick to death of dirty shower doors. Don’t worry.  We can fight this scum beast head on!

Nighty night bloggies. 🙂

10 Responses to “Squeaky Clean”

  1. Nat January 18, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    Tilex works just as well. ;p (goat face)

  2. Leyla January 18, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Awesome tip!

  3. Michelle January 18, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    OooOoOoo way to go!!! I’m definitely going to use this!

  4. Patricia Fogt January 18, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Great tips Mariam 🙂 I have tried so many remedies and none of them work as good as yours!! Thanks ❤

  5. Liz Khoshboei January 18, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Can you come over and try to clearn my shower? I tried it, but my arthritic hands can’t take the scrubing. (Maybe I can get some free labor out of this). Love you. It really works, and it’s cheap!

Leave a Reply

