Guest Room Update

4 Jan

It’s been a while since I let you know what changes I have made in the house.  The room that I am trying to focus on is the guest room.  Remember when I said I wanted an all white room?  That is still the goal, but now I kind of want a little pop of color here and there.  I have decided that shades of red and gold will do the trick.

Here’s what the room look like so far:

Mostly everything in this room so far was a thrift store find.  I do love me some thrift stores.  The bed skirt is going to be changed to an all white one once I get off my lazy butt and buy one.  Until then, this one will have to do.  It hides the hideous legs of the bed.

I love my goodwill lamps so much.  The reason why only one is on is because the right one needs some major fixing in the electrical wiring department.  My brother-in-law stayed in the room last week and was given the shock of his life when he reached to turn it off.  I thought that him getting electrocuted was quite hilarious.  He did not.

I was trying to figure out a way to make the heights of the lamps match and to make the symmetrical.  I found some old books in my mom’s garage and used them as a stand for the shorter lamp.

Now they are at the same level.  I balanced the look of the other lamp by placing a couple of books on the night stand.  Can you see the wonk-a-d0 lightbulb?  Haha, sorry Nat.

The night stands were another thrift store find I picked up a while ago knowing that I wanted to use them somewhere in the house.  They wound up being perfect for the guest room.

They begged me to take them home so naturally I had to listen.  When a piece of furniture talks to you, you listen.I sanded the heck out of them and then spray painted them white.  The way to get them to look worn in is to distress them a bit with some more sanding.  I just took a piece of sandpaper and sanded some of the paint off the corners.

So far, Im loving my old lady mostly all white room.  I have white curtains that still need to be put up once I get around to it.  Correction: Once baggins gets around to it.  I’m still on the hunt for the perfect gold curtain rod first.

Before I retire for the night I think it is necessary to give you all a daily dose of Ms. Sophia being cute yet again.

Your welcome.

3 Responses to “Guest Room Update”

  1. Leyla January 5, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    The guest room was so cozy an relaxing!

  2. Josie Salas January 5, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    The guest rooms looks very nice and becoming. Keep up the good work.

  3. Diana January 6, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Nice job with the furniture! It’s been a long time since I painted some thrifted furniture, but I’ve been getting the itch to go thrift-shopping again! 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

