Tis the season…………

23 Dec

to haul a** in the house renovation department.  We have Andrew’s side of the family coming over tomorrow for Christmas Eve and the mad rush to finish more stuff in the house is in over drive.  Baggins and Papa Solano have been busy working on our custom built in.

Here’s what they have done so far.  Not bad,huh?

There are going to be four cabinet doors at the bottom and some more built-in shelves above it.  I’m just excited to not have to worry about little Sophia’s life anymore whenever she’s under this:

That can’t be safe. See our stockings all on the mantle ready to be filled with yummy goodness?  Everyone and their mama seems to have a stocking  up this year.  Sophia already has a toy in hers.

Speaking on that subject, what the heck happened to Christmas stockings being filled with actual goodies once you stopped being a kid?  I mean just because Im no longer a child does not mean I wouldn’t appreciate if a fat white man with a beard came into my house and left me goodies in my hanging sock.

………………..I feel weird after saying that.  Note to self: Say feelings out loud before posting them on your blog.

The UPS fairy came this morning and dropped off the gift Baggins bought me online that I begged and pleaded for.

And no, I did not get the diva black glitter model.  It’s just the flash on the camera.  Calm down people.  So, my beautiful dehydrator has ten trays that can be used all at once of taken out to fit larger items.

I couldn’t wait to actually use it so I rushed to H-E-B and bought some ingredients for raw macaroons that I have been wanting to make since forever.  I tweaked the recipe and gave it a little protien “kick”.

Here’s the loot:

Raw Power Macaroons

Set dehydrator at 115*F for 12-24 hrs. or until crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

3 Cups raw coconut flakes (none of that nasty sweet sticky crap-o-la)

1 Cup agave nectar

1 TBSP vanilla extract

pinch of sea salt

1/3 cup of coconut oil

1 1/2 Cups of protein of your choice.  I used chocolate whey protein.  Thats the “power” in the Raw Power Macaroons.

I mixed all the above ingredients together in a large bowl using my electric hand mixer from Mama Khosh.  Try not to eat the batter because it may lead to a coconut batter addiction.

Once I taste tested the batter a few hundred times I was ready to scoop them onto the dehydrating trays.  I had the perfect sized scooper for the job. 

Aren’t they so cute?  I actually made another batch to fill up more trays because there was still so much room left.  Don’t worry, I made sure to taste test that batch too.

Here’s the kicker: Once they’re in the dehydrator I have to wait 12-24 hours to taste my finished macaroons.  Booooooooooooo…………  I’ll be dreaming of little power macaroons tonight I guess.

I’ll let you know how my macaroons turn out.  Goodnight bloogies.

2 Responses to “Tis the season…………”

  1. Leyla December 23, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    The house is looking great!

  2. forevervintageblog December 23, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    thanks sister. Get your butt over here so you can see your room.

Leave a Reply

