Headboard Dilemma

20 Dec

The other day, Baggins was so nice to take me downtown to stop at a few vintage shops for some much needed money spending.  Outcome= fabulous find of the day.

Looky what I found for only $8!

It is a decorate plaster artwork you can hang on the wall.  The thing that sold me on this beauty was the fact that the woman in the frame has a complete wonky face.  It looks like she smelled something stanky and her face got stuck like this.

My plans for this little lady was to put her in the guest room somewhere, but a project idea came to me when I was stressing over what I could do for a possible headboard for the bed.  I was going to make one myself, but then I changed my mind because I wanted to hold off until I found a vintage bed frame.

I remembered that I had two other artworks my mom found at goodwill that still had not been used.

The beauty of all three artworks is that they have gold frames that are textured and interesting to look at.  I needed to create a focal point above the bed while I was waiting for the vintage fairy to drop off a beautiful bed frame for me in the middle of the night.  I instantly knew that I could use the three framed artwork as a mock “headboard”.

Here’s what it looks like.  Ignore the nothingness around it.  I’m working on it.

My vintage find really does fit perfect in the middle.  She’s the diva in the bunch.  Notice the new pillows on the bed?  For the most part, the only real vibrant colors I want in the room are a few accessories coming from the pillows, artwork, and a few more things that will eventually make home in the guestroom.

So, if you’re looking for an easy way to spruce up your bed if you dont have a headboard then think about putting up some artwork that you already have laying around the house.  Even a hodge podge of artwork and framed family pictures could look really great.

Ok, I’m off to watch Planet of the Apes.  Baggins keeps eyeing me from the couch to hurry up so he can push play.  See you guys soon.

5 Responses to “Headboard Dilemma”

  1. Patricia Fogt December 21, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Very COOL Mariam 🙂

  2. Michelle December 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I really like that!!!!!!!

    • Josie Salas December 23, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      A very nice touch to the guest rooom!!!

Leave a Reply

