Dressed to Kill: Window Edition

10 Nov

Our windows decided that they didn’t want to strut around naked any more and demanded to be covered.  They were being annoying about it so I enlisted in a professional to take care of the job.  His name is Popo (a.k.a. Mark) and chose not to be photographed.

He looks similar to this Popo:

Let me just say that these pictures don’t do our new blinds justice.  They’re so much more dashing in person.  And yes, I just used the word dashing.  Do something!

And yes, I did stage the dining area so you can get a sneak peek of the final look.  It still needs some sprucing up a bit, but it’s definitely coming along.

Po definitely hooked us up.  He got us an upgrade so now we have “privacy blinds”.  What that means is that they block out happy sunshine so we can sulk around like vampires. Added bonus is that I can walk around in my skivvies if I really want to.  I don’t plan on it, but if I really wanted to I could.

There are lots more windows, but you’ll see them in their splendor when Im ready to take you all on a home tour.

I did work on another project last weekend along side the hallway striped extravaganza.  Andrew’s dad was so nice to buy us a coffee table that would be perfect for our living room.  It has chunky legs and everything I was looking for.

Correction:  It’s big boned.

It’s an old used table so it’s definitely seen its better days, but I could see the pretty girl inside.  I had to give the chica a light sanding and clean before painting it.

Shout out Michelle: Hey Chica! Shivver at college day stories haha.

What did I use to paint it you asked?  Spray paint of course!  Heller!  Shout out Madea.  Double shout out to Mama Khosh and Mama Solano.

Because I bought a spray paint without a primer mixed in it already I had to spray primer on it before color was applied.  It doesn’t matter if it’s a smooth coat.   Just go balls to the wall and put some white on that bad boy.  Hello cheetah spots.

Once the primer was all dry I sprayed the table with a great blue/gray color I chose.  It really is the perfect color match for the living room.  In love.

I used one heavy coat of paint and let the pretty girl dry.  Later that night I came across a product I bought at Home Depot that I was planning on using somewhere in the house.

I looked at the bottle of glaze and looked back at the coffee table and sparks flew.  It was a match made in heavy.  I just went with it and gave the table a shimmery coat of Ms. Martha’s creation.  It came out great!  In person the table has a metallic shimmer to it that actually matches the dining table chairs.

Sexy cougar leg detail:

So shiny and pretty.  Get in your cars right now and go pick yourself up some metallic glaze and go wild people!  You’ll love this stuff.  I promise.

Really quick picture update of the dining room chairs:

Four of the chairs look like this beauty.  In person, it has a shimmery blue pattern to it that matches the coffee table.

Here’s the sisters side by side.  The two head chairs are like the one on the right.

Check back soon for a weekend update on casa shenanigans.  We’re moving in this weekend.  Eeek!

4 Responses to “Dressed to Kill: Window Edition”

  1. Leyla November 10, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Wow! The dining set looks FAB and the coffee table is perfect! LOVE!

  2. Andrea November 10, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Love the coffee table and reupholstered chairs Mariam!

  3. Michelle November 11, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Everything is gorgeous!!! I love it! 🙂

  4. Patricia November 12, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Superb job on the coffee table Mariam!!! And the dining chairs are gorgeous!! Hope all goes well with the move :)) Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

