Hallway Makeover

7 Nov

Ok, so I couldn’t hold back this post any longer.  My original plan was to fully finish my hallway makeover extravaganza before I showed any pictures of it, but I couldn’t keep it a secret any longer.  So here it goes people.  Brace yourselves.  This is going to be a doozy.

Snoozer of a hallway before:

See what I mean by it not being fully done yet?  Notice the hideous yellow tinted door and awfully dirty vent.  They’ll be redone soon.

I looked at this hallway as a blank canvas and one thing came to mind right away.  What about stripes?  What about bold stripes?  What about horizontal stripes?  Hells yeah! Let’s do it.

Let me just say that taping the placement of the stripes took me a whole lot longer than I anticipated.  I spent a good 2-3 hours making sure they were straight and evenly placed.  I used painters tape and a level to get the job done.

Here I am using an old mixing stick to get the perfect size of each stripe.  I hate using a ruler so I went real primal with it.  Hey, it did work so I was happy.

The stripes going vertical were only used as a reminder not to paint them.  They were going to stay white.  If I hadn’t have put them there I know for sure I would have accidentally painted them which means I would accidentally hurt someone badly.

Notice the hell of a mess on top of my head.  “Im sexy and I know it”.  Shout out LMFAO.

About 10 trillion hours later the tape was laid out exactly where I wanted.  By the time I was done it was really late so I decided to wait until the next day to tackle the painting part.

Mama Solano got in on the painting fun when it was time to get down and dirty.  I want to apologize to Mama S for freaking out on her when I thought she painted the wrong stripe.  I had a moment of insanity.  She almost quit on me after that, but she forgives me I’m sure.  Well, I hope so :).

I used the same color paint that we used in the living room so that it flowed with the rest of the house.  The color I used is called Anonymous by BEHR and it is so pretty.  It really has a great Restoration Hardware vibe to it.  I highly recommend it.

I really great trick to getting clean lines using painters tape is to make sure you go over the tape with your finger or a rag with pressure so it’s flush against the wall.  We have textured walls so I made sure that the tape was on snug before I painted each one.  It really made a difference.

We finally finished the stripes.

I probably should have waited until the next day to take off the tape, but I was just too excited to see the final product.  So, I waited for a good hour or so.  You really should wait longer so that the paint is fully dry.  I got lucky and it didnt mess up when I started peeling.  It was so much fun.

Im trying to act too cool for school in this picture but I was really excited underneath the facade.

Are you ready to see the final product?  Alright, here it goes.

And Shabam!  Little Mini loved the outcome and wanted to be in the picture.

I really loved this project so much.  It did take a lot of prep work, but it was so worth it in the end.  Some of the paint leaked through the tape so Im going to tweak those the next time Im at the house.  Also, we are gong to hang this really great vintage lamp where the old light was hanging.  I’ll definitely upload more pics when its all done.  Hope you liked it 🙂

5 Responses to “Hallway Makeover”

  1. Leyla November 7, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Wow! Very bold statement! Looks amazing…so does mini!

  2. Andrea November 8, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    Nice job Mariam! When I read horizontal stripes, I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. But it looks great! When we end up getting a house, you’re going to have to be our creative consultant!

  3. Michelle November 8, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Ah- MAY-ZING!!!! WOW! Looks like it came right out of Architectural Digest!

  4. Patricia November 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    W O W ! ! ! S O C O O L ! ! ! L O V E I T ! : ))

  5. forevervintageblog November 8, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Thanks guys 🙂 You all are so encouraging.

Leave a Reply

