Weekend Warriors

6 Nov

That’s what I’m calling us from now on.  This weekend was no different from the past weekends at the house.  Same old getting stuff taken care of.  Nate Berkus would be so proud of all our home decor items and DIY projects so far.

Update on the dining room chair status: DONE! CHECK!

Mama Khosh offered her professional talent when it comes to re-upholstering chairs.  She’s amazing at it so of course I took her up on her offer.  Uh, Duh!  Actually I think the true story was that I volunteered her.  Either way, she accepted.

Remember these hideous beauties?  The fabric made me gag a little every time I looked at them, but I could see their potential.

First, I removed all of the nasty cushions.  Then, the chairs were given a color makeover with a high gloss black spray paint.  The black really made the pretty design on them stand out.

Me every time I walked past them: “Get it Girl!”  (In my head of course).

Chair war zone aftermath.  Spray can won.  The chairs didn’t stand a chance.

I waited a full day of drying before I handed the chairs over to the re-upholstering pro.  When they were ready to go Mama Khosh worked her magic.  Her biggest tip was if the original cushion and material are in good condition (ignore the ugly factor) then you can just put the new fabric right on top.  How awesome and easy is that?   So all my mom had to do was just put the new pretty fabric right on top of the horrendous one.  She deserves a raise.

I need to tell you all a hilarious story that goes along with this picture.  So, some how the electricity went out in the house and all the lights and tools that were plugged in shut off.  My mom, who was using a battery operated drill, couldn’t get it to work for some reason.  She was like, ” Did the power shut off my drill too?”  Haha mama Khosh.  So funny.  She just wasn’t pushing the button right.  She gave us a good little chuckle.

Here’s one of the finished beauties in all her glory.  My mom really did do a fantastic job on the cushions.  The fabric on this one matches one other chair.  They’ll be the ones at the head of the table.  There is also four other chairs in the same color family, but with a more subtle pattern on them.  I just realized I didn’t take a picture of them for some reason.  I’ll have to show you those later when I go back to the house.

So many more projects were tackled this weekend, but you’ll just have to check back to the blog to get an update.  You wouldn’t want to see all of it at once now would you?

Hint on an upcoming blog: I tackle our boring white hallway.

Double Hint: Horizontal stripes are involved.

Triple Hint: It came out awesome!

3 Responses to “Weekend Warriors”

  1. Patricia November 7, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Mariam ~ I just love the chair and how you guys work your magic!!! INCREDIBLE! You are such a talented family : )

  2. Michelle November 7, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Get it Girl! Get it Get it!! I love everything about it!!

  3. Leyla November 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    The chairs look completely transformed! Super! Go schmams and Mariam!

Leave a Reply

