Credenza Makeover

1 Nov

I am proud to update you all on the fact that my camera is now back in my possession.  I thought I left it at the house the other day, but when I was going to sleep last night I found it in the black hole that is my purse.  HELLER!!  Oh well.

I am so excited to show you my first thrifty makeover piece for the new casa.  Remember the old lady credenza before?  Ignore her two babies.  I’ll make over those brats another day.

BEFORE:

Are you ready for the after pic? Drum roll please. *rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr*

And BAM! AFTER:

I am so proud of this piece so much.  I may have to give it a name and talk to it everyday.  Not like I already do. Let me take you through the journey of how it got to the “after”.  That sounded really cheesy, haha.

I first had to take the massive beast outside for a full light sanding and cleaning.  The beast is as heavy as it looks.  Shout out to Baggers for heavy lifting.

Next, I removed all the hardware with my new toy.  I forgot to tell you that Baggers bought me one for my birthday.  Hells yeah!!

Hardware removed:

I decided to spray paint all of the handles a pretty gold.  I used this paint which turned out really great.  I didn’t get the paint with primer mixed in so I had to spray paint them white first and then gave them a few coats of the gold.

I made a contraption to paint them so that they wouldn’t stick and get paper stuck all over them.  Mama Solano told me about the sticking so this invention really saved me a headache .  Hardware hangers!  Little Mini showing off our invention.  This way I could spray an even coat all around them without missing spots.

While the handles were drying, I started the fun painting of the credenza.  I used a gloss white spray paint with primer mixed in already.  I loved it and the great thing is that I was originally going to distress it and make it look more antique, but it didn’t need it.  The wood soaked up the paint and let some of the natural wood peek through.  Less work for me.  Good little credenza.

I gave all of the drawers one coat of paint and the top and the sides were given about two.

Check out some details on the newly made over credenza:

This baby is going to be put against the wall next to the door so you see it right when you walk it.  I’m already coming up with ideas of how to going to dress it up with frames and what not.  Stay tuned for that.

7 Responses to “Credenza Makeover”

  1. Leyla November 1, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    um….AMAZING!!!!!!

  2. Michelle November 1, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! WOW!! I can’t wait to see!! You need any help this coming weekend?? 😉

    • forevervintageblog November 1, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      Uh duh!! Well actually there really isnt much more than cleaning and getting ready to move in. You should just come over to see how muh we’ve done since you last saw it.

  3. forevervintageblog November 1, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    You really are becoming an amazing DIY and decorator. Love it !

  4. Patricia November 2, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    WOW ~ it turned out unbelievably GORGEOUS ~ WOW!!!

Leave a Reply

